Europe Trains Guide Forum
User Info
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 09, 2024, 10:21:30 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
News
Welcome
Forum Stats
2813 Posts in 516 Topics by 767 Members
Latest Member: Markbut
Home Help Search Login Register
Europe Trains Guide Forum  |  General discussion  |  Travel plans, routes and timetables  |  Post-Bar Trip to Europe
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Post-Bar Trip to Europe  (Read 6314 times)
jumpinjax24

View Profile
« on: June 13, 2012, 07:46:07 am »

I'm taking a post-bar trip to Europe this July-August during the high season and I read your reasons NOT to buy a eurail pass.  I figure it would be cheaper for me to buy these tickets individually, but 1) I don't have time to purchase right now only because I'm still studying for my exam. I'm looking to couchsurf and stay in hostels to lessen the costs, but transportation and housing seem to be the most expensive things to pay for! Probably food too!

My itinerary is as follows. I will be flying to Europe from July 28-August 20 in Paris.  The only set plan I have to meet with friends is Amsterdam from August 16-19 and Paris on the 19th leaving on the 20th.

July 29 - August 1 Paris
August 1-2 Zurich and the Bernina Express to Tirano
August 2-4 Around Turin, Genoa, La Spezia for Cinque Terre
August 4-6 Florence
August 6-9 Rome
August 9-11 Munich
August 11-13 Cologne
August 13-15 Brussels/Brugges
August 16-19 Amsterdam
August 19-20 Paris

I am still very up in the air about Swiss since I hear its expensive, but I hear very good things about the train and the view.  I don't know about my length of stay in Florence or Germany since I might want to take the trip along the Rhine one my way up to Amsterdam.  Either way...any advice will be helpful for planning out my trip.  The sooner I can book or decide whether to cough up money for the rail pass or not, the better.  Hope to hear from you soon!