Europe Trains Guide Forum
User Info
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 03:49:04 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
News
Welcome
Forum Stats
2813 Posts in 516 Topics by 767 Members
Latest Member: Markbut
Home Help Search Login Register
Europe Trains Guide Forum  |  General discussion  |  Train fares and tariffs  |  INTERRAIL,SWISSPASS OR SWISS HALF FARE CARD?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: INTERRAIL,SWISSPASS OR SWISS HALF FARE CARD?  (Read 9856 times)
FeKo

View Profile
« on: November 18, 2016, 11:39:08 pm »

Hello,
I am going to take a trip to Switzerland next February. I am going to stay in Vevey,a city close to Lausanne, and it's my first time travelling abroad. I would like to explore Switzerland as much as I can, in the 9 days I will spend there. I am currently searching for the cheapest way to travel by train inside Switzerland, and I can't decide whether Interrail,Swisspass or Swiss half fare card is the best way to do that. Buying tickets at every station I am is not the best way,that I know for sure. I am most interested in visiting Geneva,Lausanne,Bern,Zurich and Lucerne. Does Interrail connect them? Interrail for 8-days travel in 1 month is 141 euros for me, Swisspass for 8 days is 289 euros and Swiss half fare card 112 euros. Should anyone here knows something about these "long-term tickets" or has traveled using them, it would be extremely helpful. Of course, any new suggestion is always welcome! :)
tUt
Administrator

View Profile EuropeTrainsGuide
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2016, 03:32:53 pm »

Buying tickets at every station I am is not the best way,that I know for sure.
Actually in some cases it does make sense to go with point-to-point tickets option - Swiss Railways have very good offer called SuperSaver tickets (--> basically 50% discount on regular ticket price). However in other cases indeed pass will be a cheaper option.